Header image
Enter a name
Lateral view of a Female Hexagenia limbata (Ephemeridae) (Hex) Mayfly Dun from the Namekagon River in Wisconsin
Hex Mayflies
Hexagenia limbata

The famous nocturnal Hex hatch of the Midwest (and a few other lucky locations) stirs to the surface mythically large brown trout that only touch streamers for the rest of the year.

27" brown trout, my largest ever. It was the sub-dominant fish in its pool. After this, I hooked the bigger one, but I couldn't land it.
Troutnut is a project started in 2003 by salmonid ecologist Jason "Troutnut" Neuswanger to help anglers and fly tyers unabashedly embrace the entomological side of the sport. Learn more about Troutnut or support the project for an enhanced experience here.

Red_green_h
Red_green_h's profile picture
New Mexico

Red_green_h on Sep 13, 2019September 13th, 2019, 3:36 am EDT
Maybe this is a question for the beginners area, but...I'm mostly self taught with the help of some YouTube videos. I'm fairly new to this style of fishing, but I've been fishing my entire life. I'm an old fashioned country hick from Iowa. Some of my best days as a youth were spent with my Zebco and can of corn or with some worms. One of my best days with a fly rod was up on a small mountain stream that rarely gets fished and nothing was working. I eventually kicked over a cow pattie and saw some worms. I put on a small hook and a worm and my first cast I had a fish. I caught and released so many trout it was amazing. My question is...does using worms break some type of fly fishing etiquette? The purpose is to catch fish and if they are biting on worms does that take away style points? Are there purist out there that would frown upon using a good old fashioned hook and worm on a fly rod and reel? I ask this on this forum because there is all this discussion about bugs, terrestrials, and the like and we devote so much time to figure out what trout go for which is great and I'm very interested in these topics but when I t