Header image
Enter a name
Lateral view of a Female Hexagenia limbata (Ephemeridae) (Hex) Mayfly Dun from the Namekagon River in Wisconsin
Hex Mayflies
Hexagenia limbata

The famous nocturnal Hex hatch of the Midwest (and a few other lucky locations) stirs to the surface mythically large brown trout that only touch streamers for the rest of the year.

27" brown trout, my largest ever. It was the sub-dominant fish in its pool. After this, I hooked the bigger one, but I couldn't land it.
Troutnut is a project started in 2003 by salmonid ecologist Jason "Troutnut" Neuswanger to help anglers and fly tyers unabashedly embrace the entomological side of the sport. Learn more about Troutnut or support the project for an enhanced experience here.

Baron
Baron's profile picture
Pennsylvania

Baron on Jun 9, 2019June 9th, 2019, 3:16 am EDT
I am new to fly fishing....so new that not even the fish have heard of me yet.
I currently fish some tight areas and hope to get even tighter as the larger streams warm. I'm using a single piece 4 1/2' spinning setup.
I have always admired fly fishing from a distance and there will be allot to learn to get up to speed. My used ebay fly combos arrive next week and will be allot of fun to set-up.
I am wondering if anyone could discuss the advantages of using short fly rods for brushy creeks. So far, in PA, most of the people I've met have said to use a long pole Tenkara style. On the other hand I've seen some Brittish fishermen use 5-6' rods.
Would someone with experience help me understand the nuances of short vs long fly rods in brushy areas?
Baron
Adirman
Adirman's profile picture
Monticello, NY

Adirman on Jun 9, 2019June 9th, 2019, 8:59 am EDT