Header image
Enter a name
Lateral view of a Female Hexagenia limbata (Ephemeridae) (Hex) Mayfly Dun from the Namekagon River in Wisconsin
Hex Mayflies
Hexagenia limbata

The famous nocturnal Hex hatch of the Midwest (and a few other lucky locations) stirs to the surface mythically large brown trout that only touch streamers for the rest of the year.

27" brown trout, my largest ever. It was the sub-dominant fish in its pool. After this, I hooked the bigger one, but I couldn't land it.
Troutnut is a project started in 2003 by salmonid ecologist Jason "Troutnut" Neuswanger to help anglers and fly tyers unabashedly embrace the entomological side of the sport. Learn more about Troutnut or support the project for an enhanced experience here.

Adirman
Adirman's profile picture
Monticello, NY

Adirman on Apr 15, 2013April 15th, 2013, 3:43 pm EDT
Guys:

Im sure that based on my posts title, you probably realize Im no expert entomologist! Considering this, I was hoping that someone might explain what the major difference is between a mayfly "nymph" and a caddis larva? I know that the mayfly does not go through a pupal stage like the caddis to undergo metamorphosis but beyond that, are there some other clear-cut differences that dictate the distinct designation of 1 as nymph and the other as larvae?

Thank you for your patience,

Adirman

P.S. Anyone recommend a good hardcore mayfly/caddis entomology book that is more descriptive with morphology/physiological characteris tics?
Entoman
Entoman's profile picture
Northern CA & ID

Entoman on Apr 15, 2013April 15th, 2013, 4:43 pm EDT
Hi Adir -