Header image
Enter a name
Lateral view of a Male Baetis (Baetidae) (Blue-Winged Olive) Mayfly Dun from Mystery Creek #43 in New York
Blue-winged Olives
Baetis

Tiny Baetis mayflies are perhaps the most commonly encountered and imitated by anglers on all American trout streams due to their great abundance, widespread distribution, and trout-friendly emergence habits.

27" brown trout, my largest ever. It was the sub-dominant fish in its pool. After this, I hooked the bigger one, but I couldn't land it.
Troutnut is a project started in 2003 by salmonid ecologist Jason "Troutnut" Neuswanger to help anglers and fly tyers unabashedly embrace the entomological side of the sport. Learn more about Troutnut or support the project for an enhanced experience here.

Grubb3214
Grubb3214 on Dec 16, 2011December 16th, 2011, 7:49 am EST
Hi every one i am new to your alls fourm, I have been really fourtunate to be raised in the smokie mountains and a hop and skip from the clinch. I have been trout fishing since i was little but i never have been in the colder mnths, Is there anything i should know or excpet that may be different, and do the fish still act the same here in tennessee i catch my bait in the river i use what they call a grampess just wanting your alls thoughts
Oldredbarn
Oldredbarn's profile picture
Novi, MI

Oldredbarn on Dec 16, 2011December 16th, 2011, 8:59 am EST
Grubb,

Merry Christmas to you brother and I hope that Santa brings you a starter fly tying kit...:)

Spence
"Even when my best efforts fail it's a satisfying challenge, and that, after all, is the essence of fly fishing." -Chauncy Lively

"Envy not the man who lives beside the river, but the man the river flows through." Joseph T Heywood
Grubb3214
Grubb3214 on Dec 16, 2011December 16th, 2011, 9:25 am EST